Skip to main content

Common Core Learning Standards

In one of the largest reform initiatives in recent history, New York State adopted the PreK-12 Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) for English Language Arts and Mathematics in January of 2011. Beginning in 2012-13, the standards were implemented in schools state-wide and the first wave of assessments measuring student achievement on the standards were administered in grades 3-8 in the spring of 2013.
The District will post helpful links and announcements to this page to serve as a resource for parents, teachers, and students.
What are the Common Core Learning Standards?
The CCLS are a set of consistent expectations which define the skill sets students should be able to do in order to attend college or enter the workforce.  The standards are not a curriculum, but rather focus on the outcomes of a rich and rigorous curriculum. Therefore, teachers must still determine the content and the instructional strategies for their classrooms. 
To learn more about the Common Core Standards in New York State, please go to .
footer logo
Rob Price, Superintendent of Schools
4466 South Onondaga Road | Nedrow, NY 13120
Phone 315.552.5000